Ancient Societies

by spaghettipirate

Sometimes, often, you can forget about the beauty of a summer storm. We were absolutely caught in one this afternoon; and while it was chilly at 13C – enough to see the thin wisps of your breath – I would not have wanted it any other way.
How many people will never have this same chance to walk in the perfect summer rainstorm in Mexico City along avenida reforma?

Today I had thought enough to bring my cachucha – or hat which I found ironic as we never even saw the sun today.

Unlike yesterday.

But still it covered my head and kept the rain out of my eyes.

The first stop of the day would be El Museo De Anthropologia E Historia.

Even if they shut down half of the street when we got there for some kind of march (there’s always a march) and parking led us 2km away from the museum and with a three hour time limit.

Still we spent those 3 hours learning about the origins and evolution of mankind and then the cool parts!

We visited the Mayan, Mexica (Aztec), and Olmec rooms before time ran out. But the museum had rooms dedicated to all the Mexican ancient societies.

I wonder if Mexico had the largest and most diverse collection of Indian societies in one state if not the world. So many different indians and all with their pyramids. But all also shared a common conscience – of tlaloc and the feathered serpent (representing both land and air)  

I got some nifty pictures of hieroglyphs and even the games Aztec sun stone.

image

image

image

image

And an original Omlec giant head! (guy’s got a big ego)

Which fulfilled one dream of mine to see the giant heads as the Olmecs are one of the oldest civilizations around.

By then the time had all but run out and it was a race to get to the car before the meter maid did. (we did by the skin of our teeth)

Lunch was a bus ride in the opposite direction and we found ourselves in an artsy approach to food in a restaurant called “Coolinario”. They also made their own bread on the premises and if for nothing else, that was worth the wait. Their salads were also pretty damn good, and sometimes you forget how much you just want a salad.

(I love how bakeries, florists, butchers, etc still exist in their own right here.)

That’s when the rain really started to pour. Tlaloc must have been holding in yesterday, because today what started out as a drizzle became a downpour while we were eating, and luckily had tempered out by the time the check came.

Because we were rght across the street from the Museo De Arte Moderno, and my aunt wanted me to see the the paintings by Remdios Varo (which I wasn’t sold on). Of course we arrived five minutes before 17.00 and the museum closed at 17.30.

They allowed us in for free anyways – sometimes I wonder who would pay to see some of the so called “art” that is found there.

We were able to see “The Two Fridas” in all it’s weird glory up close though.

And warm up a bit from the cold of course.

But by then the time on the parking was running out, and we decided that we would use our feet even as the men called “Taxi Taxi” from the street corners.

And what a joy that turned out to be!

We stumbled upon a free exhibition called “Un Camino De Mexico” by a man who photographed various things he found from 1900-1940s. And the hats and the moustaches and cars! There were pictures of Pancho Villa and men with twirled moustaches, and buildings all light up at night with incandcent bulbs. Honestly not one picture was boring, and people were walking hurried past it, without looking at these pictures.

It came from another life. In the span of 40 years Mexico changed radically. From horses to classic cars was the most evident, and the architecture changed. We spent easily 40 minutes walking along the street evaluating the pictures.

By the time we got to the car we were chilled to the bone, lips purple but happy for the walk to digest the food in our bellies.

We then went to pick up the Chihuahuas from my cousin and even took my cousin’s chihuahua Black – who came down with something fierce – enough to maybe even think about putting him down – to take him to the doctor and get an evalutation. He had been sick since last Thursday, the poor dog.

(The most likely cause of his stiff legs and being unable to even stand is some sort of pinched nerve in the spinal cord, and he may make a full recovery; we are keeping our fingers crossed)

If I even had summer allergies before, they are in full force now; for as I sat with Oda in the waiting room as they checked out Black, my aunt turns to me and says my eyes were bloodshot. (I have also been sneezing more than normal, which is high to being with)

It meant a long hot – to almost too hot – shower to warm up my bones and a paracetamol to help the sniffles.

I will be right annyed if it means taking a sick day – from walking and staying in cold wet socks and shoes. All the more because in a matter of days we’re off to Guadalajara and I just only got over my ear infection.

Either way the best part of the day was hearing the plip plopping of the rain drops as it fell from trees and against pavement and the 50c impermeables we bought to take the walk back to the car. The photos documenting another time and place, even in the rain, were beautiful.

I am not sure what tomorrow brings – I hear it may be the castle of Chapultepec – but certainly it will mean more metro and less hassle of parking. Even if my aunt will need to buy a pair of walking shoes with all that we’ve walked to date.

Do people die waiting for or in ambluances for so much traffic in thie city? It only gets worse when it rains.

But between then and now I just hope that my sniffles mean allergies and not a cold.

(I won’t get sick, I won’t get sick!)

