Carrots, Eggplant, Zucchini, Oh My!

by spaghettipirate

Here is another update, although some would say it comes a little bit late – but you know who you are.

Anyhow. We begin:

I’m starved for vegetables. I’m hurting for fruit.

Is it wrong that all I want to do is take a giant eggplant and take an Iron Chef bite out of it? Because I really really want vegetables. Like ok, I dig all this carbohydrates that make me swoon in delight and prop on one knee and propose to the baker right then and there; and I can really really tell you how many times walking in Paris at dusk there are few things more enjoyable than a lemon/sugar crepe.

But honestly? I sort of need a salad right about now. The selection in the supermarkets is pitifully thin, and aside from out of season oranges and Cambodian bananas, apples that are somehow still crunchy, there are few and far in between things such as kale, broccoli, lemons, acorn squash, mushrooms, eggplant, pineapple, avocados, bell peppers, turnips, grapes, watermelon, cherries, apricots. Even tomatoes are a bit of a strange thing, as there are only one type of tomatoes and many of them are already pre-bruised – for your convenience.

It’s not that I’m not getting my vegetables; indeed practically every night for dinner there is a vegetable soup that has thrown in carrots, potatoes, garlic, onions, leeks, other haphazard vegetables that might be in stock in the grocery store that week, but what I am really missing is the tactile feedback of just crunching into a Boston lettuce and baby spinach leaves and enjoying the taste for what it is without it all being blended into a soup – as delicious as said soup may be.

I want more variety, more than just carrots and onions and potatoes and starch and carbs. I want fruits and veggies. Because honestly? Back stateside pretty much all I do is eat fruits and many vegetables. I don’t eat as much meat as I do here and certainly not as much bread. It’s all well and good but occasionally you need to spice things up and leave room for variety.

Yes, perhaps in some ways I shouldn’t be complaining, after all I have a full belly every evening and wake up every morning to a good breakfast of milk and toast. There is enough variety between the rice and noodles, the steak hashe and pork cutlets to keep dinner at least some variation, and that I should be glad that I am not in Ghana with a swollen belly from mal-nurishment.

But as a dear friend of mine joyously ran up and down the super market isles about peanut butter after an extended stay in Scotland, I too am beginning to understand how variety can make a world of difference. How sometimes no, you don’t want anything in the fridge because in the last month that’s all you’ve been having.

That today you’d rather a salad with big leafy greens and afterwards a pineapple and watermelon salad. I know this isn’t the tropics and so the likelihood of finding either an edible watermelon, mango, or pineapple are slim, but sometimes I wake up and I wonder what in the world I wouldn’t give to bite into a peach or cherry or grape. Maybe it’s not the season for such fruit or vegetables, and maybe I will be proven wrong, but simply the thought of such fruit or of cauliflower is enough to send my mouth-watering.

Something of note though is the apples here. It is far from apple season and while the oranges have already turned uneatable, the apples still are every bit as delicious and crunchy as the first bit of an apple in October. The bananas are strange, they come from Africa and have a different taste and ripen differently, they are not like the ones back home, and so even though it may look black and bruised, inside it is probably still ripe.

However, I still long for the day when I can have a giant fruit salad or leaves of iceberg lettuce with cucumbers. Perhaps in the summer things will be easier, but for now I start to understand the wealth and abundance of the United States and what it has to offer with respect to fruits and vegetables. Not everything has to be of a lower quality.

Except France’s ice cream will forever blow anything the United States can come up with out. of. the. water.

PS: On a slightly political note:

Please educate yourself about this abhorrent legislation being considered in Idaho and Alabama, already passed in Virginia and Texas with respect of abortions and women’s sexual reproductive health.

As a woman, it hurts to see such bigoted, shameful, and hateful legislation passed at women; specifically low-income women.

It needs to stop as it shouldn’t have been allowed to start in the first place. Mostly I stand for state’s rights, but there comes a time when the Federal government needs to step in and prevent such legislation from passing.

The time to get loud and angry is now.

